Switching

View Only
last person joined: yesterday 

Ask questions and share experiences about EX and QFX portfolios and all switching solutions across your data center, campus, and branch locations.
Expand all | Collapse all

How to allow multiple VLAN traffic reach internet on EX2300 directly connected to a Xfinity gateway-router ?

• 1.  How to allow multiple VLAN traffic reach internet on EX2300 directly connected to a Xfinity gateway-router ?

This message was posted by a user wishing to remain anonymous
    Posted 06-02-2022 09:55
    This message was posted by a user wishing to remain anonymous

Hello,

I am new to Juniper world and would like to know the answer to the following scenario:

I have an EX-2300-C switch at home connected behind my xFi gateway (an Xfinity gateway-router device). From the xFi gateway manual i found that all ports on that xFi device are access ports (no way to make them trunk).

My EX2300 currently has all interfaces in the default VLAN, ge-0/0/0 is physically connected to xFi gateway and has internet connectivity. ge-0/0/0 is configured as the L3 interface for routing purposes for internal traffic to go outside. What I want is to create multiple VLANs on the switch and have those VLANs reach internet. 

How can I have multiple VLANs configured on the EX2300-C switch and they all can communicate with the internet with ge-0/0/0 physically connected to xFi gateway ? Is this ideally possible or do i need a router in between so that I can configure ge-0/0/0 as trunk port and the other end of router as trunk port and then have a port on the router configured as uplink that connects to xFi gateway?

FYI,

> show vlans extensive

Routing instance: default-switch
    VLAN Name: default State: Active
    Tag: 1
    Internal index: 2, Generation Index: 2, Origin: Static
    MAC aging time: 300 seconds
    Layer 3 interface: irb.0
    VXLAN Enabled : No
    Interfaces:
    ge-0/0/1.0,untagged,access
    ge-0/0/10.0,untagged,access