Switching

View Only
last person joined: 21 hours ago 

Ask questions and share experiences about EX and QFX portfolios and all switching solutions across your data center, campus, and branch locations.
Expand all | Collapse all

Mirroring of firewall internal and external from core 4600 to IDS device connected to edge 4600

• 1.  Mirroring of firewall internal and external from core 4600 to IDS device connected to edge 4600

Posted 04-11-2020 21:33

Hello,

I am new at this, sorry in advanced if I am missing something. So I am trying to figure out this issue of remote analyzer. We have an IDS device which is connected to another 4600 in our comp room. Our core switch is located in another room. I was reading that I could do RSPAN on the ports that I want to mirror to the 4600 in our comp room. So the topology is as shown below

Core4600 ---(fiber link)-- Edge4600--IDS device (I have only connected the ports to 4600 which they want to use to monitor traffic)

This is how I set up the analyzer on my core4600

root@4600-core# show forwarding-options analyzer
    Firewall-External-Monitor {
    input {
    ingress {
    interface ge-0/0/14.0;
    }
    egress {
    interface ge-0/0/14.0;
    }
    }
    output {
    vlan {
    Remote-Analyzer-External;
    }
    }
    }
    Firewall-Internal-Monitor {
    input {
    ingress {
    interface ge-0/0/10.0;
    }
    egress {
    interface ge-0/0/10.0;
    }
    }
    output {
    vlan {
    Remote-Analyzer-Internal;
    }
    }
    }

On the edge Ex4600, this is what I have configured

root@edgeex4600# show forwarding-options analyzer
    Firewall-External {
    input {
    ingress {
    vlan Remote-Analyzer-External;
    }
    }
    output {
    interface ge-0/2/6.0;
    }
    }
    Firewall-Internal {
    input {
    ingress {
    vlan Remote-Analyzer-Internal;
    }
    }
    output {
    interface ge-0/2/0.0;
    }
    }

Here is the uplink configuration between the switches

Core EX4600