Training and Certification

View Only
last person joined: 2 days ago 

How to get the most from Juniper's education services and get advice on your certification journey.
  • 1.  Forwarding Options

Posted 03-15-2022 23:00
    Hello guys, 

I am new here, I'm studying for the JNCIA and already have some experience with Junos OS. I was watching the Lab session of the Routing Fundamentals module and they showed this command set forwarding-options family inet6 mode packet-based.

I got curious about this concept and if it matters to the JNCIA level., so I went through the documentation but I don't how I would apply it in the real world. Could someone give an example?

Tks guys.

Allan.

------------------------------
    ALLAN ZANELLA

• 2.  RE: Forwarding Options

Posted 03-16-2022 05:00
    Hi,

That knob is use of u want make vSRX function as total router.

Thanks

• 3.  RE: Forwarding Options

Posted 03-16-2022 08:18
    Allan:

This configuration option is specific to the SRX Series devices (or vSRX) to disable flow based operation (default mode), effectively allowing the device to function as a standard switch or router.

See documentation link below:
    https://www.juniper.net/documentation/us/en/software/junos/flow-packet-processing/topics/topic-map/security-packet-based-forwarding.html

STEPHEN FLYNN

• 4.  RE: Forwarding Options

Posted 03-16-2022 08:50
    Hi,

Tks for this, in packet-based would spare the CPU processing then?

ALLAN ZANELLA

• 5.  RE: Forwarding Options

Posted 03-16-2022 09:02
    Possibly yes --- however that isn't the purpose of disabling the flow-based processing.  By disabling flow-based processing, you are also disabling functionality of the SRX series device.  You are configuring the purpose built firewall to no longer be a stateful firewall, but now a stateless packet processing device.