SRX

View Only
last person joined: yesterday 

Ask questions and share experiences about the SRX Series, vSRX, and cSRX.
  • 1.  Unable to ping internet from SVI on Juniper SRX320

Posted 10-12-2022 11:45
    Hi,

I have a question about pinging out from an SVI to the internet.

AS a relative beginner I setup a test SRX320 and setup NAT on the LAN interface. 

It didn't appear to be working , so I put a Laptop onto the sub interface,  I was going to do a Traceroute to 8.8.8.8 but I found if worked perfectly and I could browse the internet fine.
    My home Network is 192.168.0.x /25 and my ISP router is 192.168.0.1 I set the juniper ge-0/0/0.0 to 192.\68.0.202/24 and a gateway of 192.168.0.1 and it works fine

I setup NAT and was testing it with ping 8.8.8.8 source 192.168.10.1 ( The LAN interface on ge-0/0/1.0 ) and it fails to ping 8.8.8.8.
    When I connect a Laptop to 192.168.10.1 ( IP Address 192.168.10.2 ) to try and fault find where the issue is I find it can successfully ping 8.8.8.8

I've uploaded my config etc. any help would be Appreciated.

------------------------------
    John Kinnaird

Attachment(s)

txt
    Juniper.txt   17 KB 1 version
    txt
    Juniper from Laptop.txt   2 KB 1 version
    rtf
    Show route forward.rtf   54 KB 1 version

• 2.  RE: Unable to ping internet from SVI on Juniper SRX320

Posted 10-12-2022 16:45
    Traffic sourced from the box itself is from the junos-host zone, not the trust (as you might expect).  You have no NAT rule covering from junos-host zone.

Also, as is, your config is a bit of a mess style wise, IMO.  You have only a single zone in use and you are writing nat and security policies from trust to trust, with a disconnected untrust.  I mean, what you have will work, its just not best practice.

David Divins

• 3.  RE: Unable to ping internet from SVI on Juniper SRX320

Posted 10-15-2022 06:09