SRX

View Only
last person joined: 12 hours ago 

Ask questions and share experiences about the SRX Series, vSRX, and cSRX.
  • 1.  SRX4100 Vlans and Trunks

Posted 02-07-2023 17:08
    I am really struggling on this one.  I am very new to Juniper but come back from an exclusive Cisco background.  I am trying to configure the SRX for access ports and trunk ports but not having much success figuring it out.  I have 3 ports that I want in VLAN 5 and 2 Ports in VLAN 18.  Then I have one port that needs to be a trunk for VLAN 5 and 25 and then finally have a port that needs to be a trunk for VLAN 5, 25 and 28.  I have been bouncing around google and I am seeing some saying you have to  family ethernet switching but missing the command to turn the port into a trunk port and others saying the SRX doesn't support that so you have to configure it a different way.  Any help on this would be greatly appreciated!

------------------------------
    Malcolm Wood

• 2.  RE: SRX4100 Vlans and Trunks

Posted 02-10-2023 17:47

Hi Malcolm, 

You can configure an SRX to act as you would expect an EX switch. 
    First, you must ensure to enable Switching mode, as this is not the default.

set protocols l2-learning global-mode switching

Restart the SRX to apply this change.

Then you will be able to configure your interfaces as desired...

set interfaces ge-0/0/1 unit 0 family ethernet-switching interface-mode access vlan members VLAN_5

set interfaces ge-0/0/2 unit 0 family ethernet-switching interface-mode access vlan members VLAN_18

set interfaces ge-0/0/3 unit 0 family ethernet-switching interface-mode trunk vlan members VLAN_5
    set interfaces ge-0/0/3 unit 0 family ethernet-switching interface-mode trunk vlan members VLAN_25

set interfaces ge-0/0/4 unit 0 family ethernet-switching interface-mode trunk vlan members VLAN_5
    set interfaces ge-0/0/4 unit 0 family ethernet-switching interface-mode trunk vlan members VLAN_25