Junos OS

View Only
last person joined: 2 days ago 

Ask questions and share experiences about Junos OS.
  • 1.  How about a catastrophe scenario ...

Posted 02-03-2023 08:27

Bonjour everybody

Let's see when YOU can spot the problem before it happens

1)      I use mgmt port in my lab on my 10   2300-C switches for convenience

2)      I don't use  mgmt. port on the 250 switches in the field. I have a management vlan shared by all switches

3)      Lab and fields run on Junos 20.4R2S2

4)      Last year, we had to add an sfp with xe interface on 2 field switches.

5)      I tested a config in my lab and, when I was sure it worked , copied it from the lab  remotely on the 2 sites.

6)      Last week we wanted to upgrade the 250 prod switches to Junos 22.3

7)      I read the note on 22.3 and don't notice anything that applies to my configurations

8)      I did the same steps that I have been doing for 3 years, hundreds of time

a.       Have coffee

b.       Put the new image in /tmp directory on each switch

c.       Md5 check that the file is OK

d.       Request software add <new image> no-copy no-validate

e.       Make sure the image is correctly installed with the last line " will take effect at next reboot"

f.        Notify clients of the coming 15mns re-start of the 2300s at scheduled date

g.       Have coffee

9)      On the scheduled date, at 23:00, I ask for a reboot on all switches

10)   After 15 mns, all switches were back online, running on Junos 22.3 ... all except 2 for which I had lost total contact.

Took me a while to figure it out. I learned from my mistake and I'll share the solution with you next week J

Best regards,

Michel Lapointe

GIRAT

• 2.  RE: How about a catastrophe scenario ...

Posted 02-06-2023 21:31
    now before I write the solution, I must say that I did what I thought was due diligence: