Automation

View Only
last person joined: 6 days ago 

Ask questions and share experiences about Apstra, Paragon, and all things network automation.
  • 1.  Creating a script in Junos Space for clearing storage on EX 2300-C's

Posted 03-14-2023 10:37

Hello!

I have been a network technician with my company working under engineers for the last 2 years supporting a Juniper environment. I know my way around the CLI, but none of us are familiar with writing scripts for use in jspace.

I would greatly appreciate some pointers on where to get started on learning how to create my own scripts. I'd like to begin with a simple one that runs the <request system storage cleanup> command only.

I have a few hundred 2300's that I need to run this on for software updates and being able to whip a script up for it would be waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay better than ssh'ing into every one and copy pasting the command - I did it the last time we updated and it was monotonous to say the least.

Thank you very much if you have the time!

------------------------------
    TJ MUNGER

• 2.  RE: Creating a script in Junos Space for clearing storage on EX 2300-C's

Posted 02-18-2024 12:38
    Edited by asharp 02-21-2024 17:46

Something like the following should work.  Not tested it extensively, but was working with Space 23.1R1.4 and a couple of SRX that had been discovered.

I should point out that this is a local SLAX script, that means that this script does not need to be staged on any devices.  Instead Junos Space itself will launch the script, and internally it will make connections to the target device(s) via the connection, and collect and parse the RPC replies that it receives from each of the devices etc.

So long as the target devices understand the RPC's that are requested then all is good.