Routing

View Only
last person joined: 2 days ago 

Ask questions and share experiences about ACX Series, CTP Series, MX Series, PTX Series, SSR Series, JRR Series, and all things routing, including portfolios and protocols.
  • 1.  Connecting two sites using L3 Metro E with different vlans.

Posted 04-03-2023 10:00
    Edited by KARANG DIKA KUSUMA 04-03-2023 10:01

Hi,

I'm new with metro E technology and i'm trying to understand and building a simple topology in order to comprehend how metro e works.

Let's say i have this simple topology shown below

I want my VMs  from Site A can talk and communicate with VMs in Site B via Metro E. i read that metro e works like connecting two switches but only in different sites. So i'm thinking that i can route my vlans from Site A to Site B and vice versa using L3 protocol (Normal Static Route) using P2P between two switches. From my understanding, is that correct how that metro E works? Can i just simply put P2P IP in those 2 switches and route my desired vlans to P2P next-hop of the switch in Site B and vice versa?

Or is it only works in L2 Protocol where the interface should be in native vlans and consist of trunk vlans??

Please enlight me from this simple example.

Thank you.

------------------------------
    KARANG DIKA KUSUMA

• 2.  RE: Connecting two sites using L3 Metro E with different vlans.

Posted 04-03-2023 10:49

Metro ethernet for just two sites can be looked at as a giant ethernet cable that you plug into a port on each location.

You can choose to configure the connected port layer 2 or layer 3 as you wish.  I've seen customers use both methods depending on their needs.