Switching

View Only
last person joined: 3 days ago 

Ask questions and share experiences about EX and QFX portfolios and all switching solutions across your data center, campus, and branch locations.
  • 1.  EX2300 packet-action log

Posted 06-22-2020 02:37

Hiya.

I am fairly new at JunOS so grateful for any help on the below:

I am attempting to configure mac security on access ports on my EX2300 (18.1R3) but I just want to trap the mac violation and not shutdown or drop the packet.

According to the manual it is a simple case of doing the following:

set switch-options interface ge-0/0/0 interface-mac-limit 1 packet-action log

The command takes but on a commit check I get the following:

interface mac limit should be configured with drop/drop-and-log/shutdown action

Does anyone know why I can't set a mac limit of 1 and just log a violation?

Is it a limitation of the firmware?

Grateful for any help

#mac

• 2.  RE: EX2300 packet-action log
    Best Answer

Posted 06-22-2020 02:44

Hello yawksheer,

referencing Juniper Techpub, "log" is not supported on EX2300:

https://www.juniper.net/documentation/en_US/junos/topics/task/configuration/port-security-mac-move-limiting-cli-els.html

You can choose to have one of the following actions performed when the MAC move limit is exceeded:

• drop—(EX2300, EX3400 and EX4300) Drop the packet, but do not generate an alarm.

• drop-and-log—(EX2300, EX3400 and EX4300 only) Drop the packet and generate an alarm, an SNMP trap, or system log entry.

• log—(EX4300 and EX9200) Do not drop the packet but generate an alarm, an SNMP trap, or a system log entry.

• none—(EX4300 and EX9200) Forward packets with new source MAC addresses, and learn the new source MAC address.

So it seems you have to configure "drop", "drop-and-log" or "shutdown" without "log".

• 3.  RE: EX2300 packet-action log

Posted 06-22-2020 02:50

Hi yawksheer

Greetings,