SRX

View Only
last person joined: 2 days ago 

Ask questions and share experiences about the SRX Series, vSRX, and cSRX.
  • 1.  SRX240H Ping Untrust interface from Internet

Posted 12-03-2013 12:22

Hi Guys,

I'm new to the SRX platform and just brought up a new SRX240H.  I set an IP on the default untrust interface Gig0/0/0 and set a default route pointing to our internet router. 

Issue I'm having is I can't ping the firewall from the internet.  I confirmed internet access by going to the Troubleshooting section in the GUI and successfully pinging 4.2.2.2 and tracing to other internet destinations.

However, when I try pinging the public interface on the firewall from a machine on the internet, I am getting no response. 

Can someone with some expertise please guide me through?  I am configuring on the GUI.

Thanks in advance for your assistance.

#PolicyConfiguration
    #SRXconfiguration
    #SRX240H

• 2.  RE: SRX240H Ping Untrust interface from Internet

Posted 12-03-2013 22:21

Hi ,

Please ensure you have system services ping enabled for that interface on the security zone.

set security zones security-zone trust interfaces ge-0/0/1 host-inbound-traffic system-services ping

(Click the "Star" for Kudos if you think I earned it!
    If this solution worked for you please flag my post as an "Accepted Solution" so others can benefit..]

Regards,
    rparthi

• 3.  RE: SRX240H Ping Untrust interface from Internet

Posted 12-04-2013 08:43

Thanks for your response.  Just one question:

I'm actually trying to enable ping for the untrust interface so that the public side can be pinged on the internet.  I'd preferably like to have an access list to only allow my monitoring application to receive ping replies from the firewall.

So for example public address x.x.x.x can be pinged from monitoring device y.y.y.y - but a random IP address on the internet, should receive no ping reply.