Junos OS

View Only
last person joined: yesterday 

Ask questions and share experiences about Junos OS.
  • 1.  SRX100 12.1-X46-Dxx Beaten Up by SSH login attempts. How to stop them?

Posted 10-21-2021 12:13
    I'm in the US.  We have a SRX100 in the UK, that is getting beaten up with SSH login attempts.  It's used as a IPSec tunnel back to our DC.  Since these are older and no longer supported, all the while we're trying to get it funded for replacement, I need a method that will deny these attempts from causing performance issues and syslogs from rolling over every hour or two.  I'm relatively new with these, so my initial attempt was using the  set system login retry-options commands.  Lots of lockouts, but the hits keep on coming.

Talked to someone about firewall filters, but have not written one that is successful as of yet.  Info I've found on the Juniper KB site is written more for still supported devices.

Anyone have these in place still, and have configured them to ward off the SSH deluge?  Appreciate the help.

• 2.  RE: SRX100 12.1-X46-Dxx Beaten Up by SSH login attempts. How to stop them?

Posted 10-21-2021 20:20
    Where are the ssh attempts from and to on the SRX?

Hopefully you don't need ssh access open to internet facing interfaces.  so the process could be as simple as removing ssh as an allowed option for host inbound traffic on the internet zone.

------------------------------
    Steve Puluka BSEET - Juniper Ambassador
    IP Architect - DQE Communications Pittsburgh, PA (Metro Ethernet & ISP)
    http://puluka.com/home

• 3.  RE: SRX100 12.1-X46-Dxx Beaten Up by SSH login attempts. How to stop them?

Posted 10-22-2021 14:47
    Since its a small remote office,  the only way we can get to it is with SSH.   Telnet is turned off.  Is there a way to use a customized port number with SSH, so only that could access the interface?

• 4.  RE: SRX100 12.1-X46-Dxx Beaten Up by SSH login attempts. How to stop them?

Posted 10-22-2021 16:26