Junos OS

View Only
last person joined: 6 days ago 

Ask questions and share experiences about Junos OS.
  • 1.  ICL on MC-LAG A/A

Posted 07-02-2019 05:27

Hi All,

I am quite new to MC-LAG in Juniper but i found documentation enough to start with.

I need to design MC-LAG A/A with mx-10003.

From here: https://www.juniper.net/documentation/en_US/release-independent/nce/topics/concept/mc-lag-on-core-understanding.html Fig.1

I can see that ICL and ICCP are physically 2 separated interface (both aggregated ethernet interface). Best practice are also listed on that link so no need to report here.

Collecting these information I understood:

- ICL must be a layer2 trunk interface. All vlans configured on the ae facing the customer, need to be trunked on the ICL interface

- ICCP can be layer2 and layer3.  ICCP need to be configured as a normal protocol.

"The recommended method is to have both Layer 2 and Layer 3 reachability and use loopback or interface"

ref: Juniper MX Series, 2nd Edition

Question:

- Could you please confirm that my understanding is correct?

- More, is there any way to plan the bandwith needed for ICL and ICCP (basically the bandwith of ICL and ICCP)?

Thanks all as usual for your support.

• 2.  RE: ICL on MC-LAG A/A
    Best Answer

Posted 07-02-2019 07:34

Hi FabNewCert,

- ICL must be a layer2 trunk interface. All vlans configured on the ae facing the customer, need to be trunked on the ICL interface

Mengzhe - Yes. Your understanding is correct 

- ICCP can be layer2 and layer3.  ICCP need to be configured as a normal protocol

Mengzhe - In practise, use of layer 2 interface with irb is mostly deployed 

"The recommended method is to have both Layer 2 and Layer 3 reachability and use loopback or interface"

Mengzhe - Right. bridge interface with irb is remmended 

- Could you please confirm that my understanding is correct?

Mengzhe - Looks all correct to me