Routing

View Only
last person joined: 2 days ago 

Ask questions and share experiences about ACX Series, CTP Series, MX Series, PTX Series, SSR Series, JRR Series, and all things routing, including portfolios and protocols.
  • 1.  BGP AS Path Prepend Query

Posted 05-24-2021 15:52
    Hello,

I have a question regarding AS path prepend.  I have an EBGP with a another customer and I am advertising all routes in my routing table to this BGP neighbour.
    We are also learning several /24s from this customer and advertising those out to upstream carriers. The customer has come back to say they are also using several other ISPs to advertise these ranges  out to internet therefore would like to check if we  would allow AS Path prepend. 

I have limited knowledge of AS PATH prepend therefore would like to know how can we achieve this or if in my config below is there anything that is blocking AS path prepend.

set protocols bgp group customers neighbor 2.2.2.2 description Customer-Transit
    set protocols bgp group customers neighbor 2.2.2.2 local-address 2.2.2.1
    set protocols bgp group customers neighbor 2.2.2.2 import CUST_ASCustomer-AS
    set protocols bgp group customers neighbor 2.2.2.2 export CUST_ASCustomer-AS-export
    set protocols bgp group customers neighbor 2.2.2.2 export default
    set protocols bgp group customers neighbor 2.2.2.2 peer-as Customer-AS

set policy-options prefix-list customer_ASCustomer-AS 3.3.3.0/22

set policy-options policy-statement CUST_ASCustomer-AS term valid-prefixes from prefix-list-filter customer_ASCustomer-AS orlonger
    set policy-options policy-statement CUST_ASCustomer-AS term valid-prefixes then local-preference 900
    set policy-options policy-statement CUST_ASCustomer-AS term valid-prefixes then community set MY-transit-customer
    set policy-options policy-statement CUST_ASCustomer-AS term valid-prefixes then accept
    set policy-options policy-statement CUST_ASCustomer-AS then reject