Routing

View Only
last person joined: 3 days ago 

Ask questions and share experiences about ACX Series, CTP Series, MX Series, PTX Series, SSR Series, JRR Series, and all things routing, including portfolios and protocols.
  • 1.  SD LAN - multi tenant on same EX switch?

Posted 12-08-2019 12:19
    Hi all,

I’m a SD LAN newbie so please bare with me; I have a network with lots of EX switches and SRX’s.

We have lots of different departments we want to put into tenants and use Contrail for a SD LAN and DC.

I want to be in a position where I can have a user plug into a access switch; this does a .1x authentication with their certificate and the result of that .1x determines the tenant they are placed into on the switch. The switch needs to handle multi tenants.

Would I be right in thinking this is how contrail SD lan works? So the tenant they get put into only accesses the policy we give it?

I might be getting mixed up between tenants and VRF’s?

Thanks

• 2.  RE: SD LAN - multi tenant on same EX switch?

Posted 12-09-2019 13:20

Hi,

I don't have a definitive answer for you but I think what you are asking is potentially possible via CSO - but not in a unified way.

First of all: Contrail Service Orchestrator (CSO) is the SD-WAN product where Contrail Enterprise Multicloud (CEM) is for the datacenter and cloud networking. These two products have no interaction what so ever even they are named "Contrail".

Regarding SD-WAN/CSO:

CSO is multi-tenant where you can deploy a "Provider HUB" which can serve multiple different CSO tenants. There is also a possibility to implement an "Enterprise HUB" which is tied to a specific CSO tenant.