Routing

View Only
last person joined: 3 days ago 

Ask questions and share experiences about ACX Series, CTP Series, MX Series, PTX Series, SSR Series, JRR Series, and all things routing, including portfolios and protocols.
Expand all | Collapse all

BGP and Bogon / Martian lists

• 1.  BGP and Bogon / Martian lists

Posted 03-12-2018 04:19

Hi,

I admit I am far from a BGP expert and would like a little bit of advice on the following:

From a Bogon/Martian lisitng perspective, I can get this automatically updated from the "Cymru" guys who maintain a dynamic listing. I have their BGP details but they have also stated "Communities" for this dynamic update.

I am a little confused when it comes to "Communities" within BGP and would appreciate a little guidance of how to use these.

Apologies if this seems simple to BGP experts but, as I mentioned, I am no BGP expert.

Thank you

• 2.  RE: BGP and Bogon / Martian lists

Posted 03-12-2018 05:56

Hi Adgwty,

If i understand correctly, the routes which are receving from the peer will have community tag and you need to accept the same ?

Let me know is this correct i can help you with that.

regards

Vadivelan V

• 3.  RE: BGP and Bogon / Martian lists

Posted 03-12-2018 06:05

Hi,

Yes, that is correct.....

As a quick add on question, if I want to use the loopback address for eBGP do I use the following command:

local-address

Thanks

• 4.  RE: BGP and Bogon / Martian lists

Posted 03-12-2018 07:03

Hi,

First check the list of communities from them and match the communities like below and you can set the LP and do some manipulations.

set policy-options community MASK members 1117:.*
    set policy-options community MASK members 8200:.*
    set policy-options community MASK members 4445:.*

set policy-options policy-statement test term TITAN-BOGES from community MASK
    set policy-options policy-statement test term TITAN-BOGES then accept
    set policy-options policy-statement test term last then reject