Routing

View Only
last person joined: 2 days ago 

Ask questions and share experiences about ACX Series, CTP Series, MX Series, PTX Series, SSR Series, JRR Series, and all things routing, including portfolios and protocols.
  • 1.  Juniper Equivalent to Cisco Loopback Interfaces / VyOS Dummy Interfaces

Posted 06-06-2020 07:27

Hi, all! I'm primarily a Cisco administrator, so I'm used to the concept of the ability to create multiple loopback interfaces "in a single routing instance" (VRF/routing context in Cisco world).

On VyOS, you can have something similar with dummy interfaces. However, I can't find an equivalent on Juniper gear. I am aware that you can add multiple IPs to the default lo0 interface under a unit, but you can only have one interface unit per routing instance. This would be extremely useful for testing purposes, since the problem is that IGPs (e.g. OSPF) have interfaces enabled under the process and not specific networks. Therefore, on Cisco platforms, I could create two loopback interfaces (say, 1.1.1.1/32 and 2.2.2.2/32) and advertise one into area 0 and the other into area 1 on the OSPF ABR to induce the creation of a Type 3 LSA. The same could be accomplished on the VyOS platform.

However, since I'd be assigning these two IPs to the same interface on JUNOS platforms, both networks would be injected into OSPF, if my logic serves me right. I'm therefore making this post to ask how I might be able to achieve the same behavior as I can using IOS's loopback interfaces of creating "dummy networks" that are separated from each other at the interface level so that I can have more control over them. Thank you in advance to anyone who is able to provide any assistance at all, it's greatly appreciated!

• 2.  RE: Juniper Equivalent to Cisco Loopback Interfaces / VyOS Dummy Interfaces

Posted 06-06-2020 07:36

Hello kelvin,