Switching

View Only
last person joined: 3 days ago 

Ask questions and share experiences about EX and QFX portfolios and all switching solutions across your data center, campus, and branch locations.
  • 1.  Output ACL not allowed on lo0 on EX4200

Posted 09-22-2021 14:42
    Hi,
    I'm new to Juniper ACL, and find something can be easily done on Cisco switch but so difficult on Ex4200 switch.

I tried to stop all the outgoing traffic from 10.33.108.128/28 behind the switch from going out, but allow all other traffic within 10.33.108.0/22 on the switch. And here is how I tried to do this:
    set firewall family inet filter out-going term 1 from source-address 10.33.108.128/28

set firewall family inet filter out-going term 1 then discard

set firewall family inet filter allowed-traffic term 2 from source-address 10.33.108.0/22

set firewall family inet filter allowed-traffic term 2 then accept

set int lo0 unit 0 family inet filter output out-going
    set int lo0 unit 0 family inet filter output allowed-traffic

but has errors when I try to commit:
    root# commit
    [edit interfaces lo0 unit 0 family inet]
    'filter'
    Output Filters are not supported on loopback interface lo0
    error: configuration check-out failed

What cause this problem? Are there any better way to solve the problem?

Thanks a lot in advance,
    Keith

------------------------------
    KEITH GAO

• 2.  RE: Output ACL not allowed on lo0 on EX4200

Posted 09-23-2021 05:49
    Whether you can apply a filter on input or output or both is a function of the chip set deployed.

Note that Junos distinguishes between two types of traffic to filter
    Transit traffic comes in one port of the device and then will egress another port based on the routing and forwarding table.
    Self traffic is that which one end of the connection is the Junos device itself.