Switching

View Only
last person joined: 3 days ago 

Ask questions and share experiences about EX and QFX portfolios and all switching solutions across your data center, campus, and branch locations.
  • 1.  Virtual-Switching EX4200

Posted 08-19-2021 21:06
    Edited by Annie Moncure 08-20-2021 08:44
    Hi Guys

This is my first time configuring the Juniper, but I have a question related to virtual switching.
    1. What are vlan.0 and vlan.1 in the show interface terse vlan output?
    2. I can delete these vlans 0 and 1 and leave just vlan (default)?

I appreciate who can help me.

Regards,
    Morais

------------------------------
    Thiago Morais

• 2.  RE: Virtual-Switching EX4200

Posted 08-23-2021 06:05
    The interfaces vlan.0 and vlan.1 are the layer three interfaces for that associated vlan.  If you don't need these to be on the Junos device then you can delete them.

The vlan stanza declares the properties of the layer two which includes the vlan number and associated interfaces including which layer 3 interface is in that vlan.  So you would need to delete the vlan.0/vlan.1 here too.  But leave all the interfaces you want to stay in the layer 2 vlan.

In Junos default is just a name so this can be used, changed or deleted as desired and does not have to remain as is.  The vlan id can change or any of the interfaces layer2 or 3.  This is just in some factory configurations as a convenience.

Steve Puluka BSEET - Juniper Ambassador
    IP Architect - DQE Communications Pittsburgh, PA (Metro Ethernet & ISP)
    http://puluka.com/home

• 3.  RE: Virtual-Switching EX4200

Posted 08-23-2021 19:56
    Hi Steve
    Thank you for answering my question.