Switching

View Only
last person joined: 3 days ago 

Ask questions and share experiences about EX and QFX portfolios and all switching solutions across your data center, campus, and branch locations.
  • 1.  Newbie EX2200 POE assistance

Posted 01-23-2022 20:00
    Firstly Hello,

I want to start by setting my background - I have NO experience with enterprise gear. that might be unusual for this forum but never the less it's where I'm at. I'm an electrician by trade and enjoy most things IT and learning new stuff. In an impulse buy,  I purchased an EX2200 POE 48 port switch off Ebay because I want to work towards networking my home and also run a couple of POE cameras, so had hoped this could be a 1 switch solution and the first addition to my network cabinet.

Now for the issue - Everything :). I guess it's already been configured by where ever it was previously installed, the seller wasn't the old owner just an IT company that wasn't able to assist.  I've read what I can from various juniper youtubes and the quick start guide, and it sounds like I should be able to connect to port 0 with network cable and use Jweb, but I don't seem to get anywhere. When the unit turns on it's like it's just power cycling, maybe hunting for something that it's not obviously finding. The Sys light is on and off along with the cycling and the only other light that flashes is the MGMT port on the rear. I've also tried network cable into the port at the rear but again it just continues power cycling. I don't have an rs232 adaptor to try that way. If i use a straight USB-A cable into the only usb port which is under the MGMT fans turn on but no unknown devices pop up into Dev Manager so I figure that's not any way it's meant to be done, but hey can't blame a guy for giving it a go. :)