Switching

View Only
last person joined: 12 hours ago 

Ask questions and share experiences about EX and QFX portfolios and all switching solutions across your data center, campus, and branch locations.
  • 1.  Setting up mirroring

Posted 07-21-2019 20:16

I've done mirroring on other switches to find a problem but I'm new to junipers so I might as well know nothing about switches.

The client wants ports 7 and 8 to mirror their data so it can be sent to port 9.   please let me know if you need more info.

• 2.  RE: Setting up mirroring

Posted 07-21-2019 20:27

Sure,  you will find many examples of this in Juniper documentation.  See this for example and confirm if that answers:

https://www.juniper.net/documentation/en_US/junos/topics/example/port-mirroring-local-ex-series.html
    https://www.juniper.net/documentation/en_US/junos/topics/concept/port-mirroring-ex-series.html
    https://www.juniper.net/documentation/en_US/release-independent/nce/topics/example/port-mirroring-nce-configuring.html 

Hope this helps.

Regards,
    -r.

--------------------------------------------------

If this solves your problem, please mark this post as "Accepted Solution."
    Kudos are always appreciated :).

• 3.  RE: Setting up mirroring

Posted 07-22-2019 06:53

Thanks!  I'll give it a try

• 4.  RE: Setting up mirroring

Posted 07-22-2019 08:07

OK - I admit I started and decided to try to follow the example but got a little lost.

Our network is 10.10.10.x

Our firewall / default gateway is 10.10.10.1

Our switch is 10.10.10.5

I believe the port 7 workstation IP will be 10.10.10.107

I believe the port 8 workstation IP will be 10.10.10.108

We want workstation 10.10.10.109 on port 9 to get the mirrored info from both port 7 and 8.

Mirror.JPG

They give this for the example.

set interfaces ge-0/0/0 unit 0 family ethernet-switching

I think I can skip the first line

set interfaces ge-0/0/1 unit 0 family inet 192.1.1.1/24