Switching

View Only
last person joined: 3 days ago 

Ask questions and share experiences about EX and QFX portfolios and all switching solutions across your data center, campus, and branch locations.
  • 1.  Creating Virtual Chassis with EX3400's

Posted 06-13-2017 08:16

Hi All,

I'm very new to Juniper and need assistance trying to create a VC with EX3400's.  I've searched the Knowlege Base and it seems that the setup is version specific and model specific sometimes.  I've had trouble finding all the data I need and I'd be appreciative if someone could give me more info.  I'm coming from an Enterasys shop where no commands are necessary in the CLI beforehand, just power down, attach cables, and power up.  I'm finding the Juniper switches much more favorable.... except for this one thing!

I have used the following in Member 0 of a closet with 5 switches that I want to stack together.

set virtual-chassis member 0 mastership-priority 255

set virtual-chassis member 1 mastership-priority 255

When I attempted this, upon powering up Member 1, Member 0 lost connectivity and the only lights on the front were SYS and SPD.  Member 1 appeared to become the backup as it had the SYS LED, SPD, and flashing green MST, eventually going solid green.   Consoling in to Member 0 showed it to be a linecard and consoling in to Member 1 showed it to be "Master 1" and running 

show virtual-chassis

Returned that is was the only switch in the VC.  It did not see member 0 at all.

Previous to that attempt, I used the pre-provisioned method and listed the SN of all 5 switches and making member 0 and member 1 be routing-engines and the remaining 3 as linecards.  This also resulted in disaster.  I powered on Member 0 and all was fine, upon powering on the remaining switches (with cables already connected) no switch (including member 0 now) had any lights except SYS and SPD.  None were a Master, all showed as being a linecard.